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Registered Barber Examination and Registration Application 

Application Requirements: 

Completed Application must be received by the Board with all required documents and full payment before the 20th 

day of the month before the examination. If the 20th falls on a weekend the application is due on the Friday before. 
Effective August 1, 2020, the Board no longer will accept cash payments. 

 
Checklist of required items: 

 Previously Purchased the Home Study Course: required for all applicants. If not previously purchased, 
the $75.00 fee is required. The Home Study Course will be mailed to the address below if you apply by 
mail. 

 Application fee of $85.00 submitted with this application.  (Combined fees total $160.00 one check or money 

order is acceptable.) All fees must be paid by check or money order, cash payment is no longer accepted as of 8/1/2020. 

 Barber School Certificate of Completion documenting required hours of school completed 
within the previous four years submitted with the application or is already on file with the 
Board. 

 Completed application. 
 

The information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility for examination or 
barber registration/license. You are not legally obligated to provide any of the information requested. If you do not 
provide the information, the Board may be unable to process your application resulting in the application process 
being delayed or denied. 

The Board is required to have a licensee’s Social Security Number on file by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 and 
cannot issue a certificate of registration without having the number. Your Social Security Number may be requested by 
and released to the Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue and may be used for revenue recapture as authorized by 
Minnesota Statute. Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security Numbers as private data on individuals and your 
Social Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by law. 

Upon issuance of a certificate of registration all information provided during the application process will become 
public information pursuant to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5, with the exception of Social Security Numbers 
as specified above. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 604.113 and 609.535, the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners is authorized to charge a service fee of 
$30.00 for any check that is returned for nonpayment. 

Applicant Information 
 

Last Name First Name M I Gender: 
○ Male 
○ Female 

Address Telephone Number (home or cell) 

City State Zip Code 

Date of Birth 
 

/ / 

County E-mail address (required) 

 

Applying for: Feb      May    Aug _____ Nov _____ 

https://mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners/


 

 

Barber School Information 

School Name: School Address: 

Date Started Date Completed Total Hours 

Examination Accommodations 
Applicants with documented disabilities may receive reasonable accommodations to complete the 
examination. It is your responsibility to request accommodations at the time of application. Accommodations 
may include but are not limited to: Additional time to complete the written portion of the exam or a reader to 
read the examination. You must supply documentation of a need for accommodation such as special 
education records or a current disability evaluation. Please inform the Board of your need for 
accommodations and submit documentation with this application. 

Language Interpreter 
Applicants with English as a second language may have a language interpreter to assist them during the 
examination. It is your responsibility to request an interpreter if needed. You must provide your own 
interpreter and all interpreters must be approved by the Board, cannot be family members or barbers, and 
must be on the State Roster of Interpreters through Minnesota Courts or Department of Health. If you need 
an interpreter, please inform the Board when you apply for the examination. 

*NOTE: 

• Your exam fees may be moved to the next examination date one time if you notify the Board at least 
one working day before the exam begins. In rare instances an exception may be made for documented 
emergency situations. 

• Missing the exam without appropriate notice, being late for the exam (after 7:45am), or not having a 
model on the day of the exam are not emergency situations. You will be required to re-apply and pay 
the exam fee to take the exam at a later date. 

 
All barber applicants in the State of Minnesota must answer the following questions when applying. If you 
answer yes to any of these questions, you must provide the additional documentation as listed. 

1.   Have you ever held a barber certificate/license in another State or Country? 
If yes, list the certificate/license type and the State/Country in which you were certified/licensed: 

o Yes 
 

o No 

2. Has any professional or occupational license, certification, registration, or permit 
held by you been fined, suspended, revoked, refused or denied in this or any 
other state, by the federal government, or any other jurisdiction? 

If yes, you must attach all of the following: 

• A written statement signed and dated by the applicant identifying the type of 
license, certificate, registration or permit and an explanation of each incident 
including the jurisdiction. 

• A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution or final 
judgment. 

 
 

o Yes 
 

o No 

3. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to Minnesota 
Statute 270C.72 that you currently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent 
taxes?  If yes, attach a signed, dated explanation including payment plan or resolution 

o Yes 
 

o No 

 

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 

651-201-2820 or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529. 
An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 



 

 

Barber Responsibilities 

Registration and Display of Certificates 
Per MN Statute 154.14 (2016) every holder of a certificate of registration as a registered barber 
shall display the certificate, with a 2” x 2” head & shoulder photograph of the barber that meets 
the same standards as required for a United States passport, in a conspicuous place adjacent to or 
near the chair where work is performed. 

Renewal 
Barber registrations expire each year on December 31st. Failure to renew on or prior to that date 
will result in additional fees to reinstate the registration. Minnesota Statute 154.15 Subd. 2 (2016). 
States: Effect of failure to renew. A registered barber who has not renewed a certificate of 
registration may be reinstated within four years of such failure to renew without examination upon 
the payment of the required restoration fee for each year the certificate is lapsed…. All registered 
barbers who allow their certificates of registration to lapse for more than four years shall be 
required to reexamine before being issued a certificate of registration. 

 

Communicable Disease 
Per MN Statute 154.161subd 4(7) (2016) practicing as a barber while having an infectious or 
contagious disease may be grounds to refuse to renew, suspend, temporarily suspend, or 
revoke the application, certificate of registration, or shop registration card. 

 
Name Change 
If you have a change of name, please notify the Board in writing and include a photocopy of the 
legal document that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc…) 

Address Change 
An address change can be completed over the telephone, by fax, in person or by e-mail. 
It is your responsibility to inform the board so as to not delay receipt of Board 
communications. 

Barber Laws and Rules 
Copies of the Minnesota Barber Laws and Rules may be purchased from the Minnesota Bookstore 
(651-297- 3000, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul) or found at: www.leg.state.mn.us 

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 
 

I certify that I have read and understand the information provided above and that the 
information I have included within this application is true and correct. 

 

 

Signature of Applicant Date 
 

Subscribed and sworn before me this ___ day of  ____________20  .  
 
 

______________________________________ 

Notary Public 

County:  _____________________________  

My Commission Expires:    

1/2018 

http://www.leg.state.mn.us/

